top of page
Writer's pictureParithyaga.org

Help a national athlete return to sports.

Updated: Jul 31, 2021

"I became the best athlete in the Eastern Province. Born to a poor family, I could not afford even two shoes. Most days I didn't even have money for the bus when I went to training.

In 2011 I was assigned to the Army and engaged in sports activities there. Although I was close to pursuing my dream of becoming like Susanthika(Olympic Medalist), I was constantly hampered by gossip, jealousy and infatuation. Although I tolerated them, my mother had a kidney transplant and the problems got worse. Since there was no one in Colombo to look after her, I had to travel to Colombo weekly wash my mother's clothes and bring new ones. But you can't come like that from the Army camp anytime.


I went to the Colombo General Hospital, looked after my mother, fed her, brought her clothes and went for training. My mother had an operation and stayed there for a month without even taking a bath. Eventually I did not get to leave the camp. There was no one to take care of my mother at home. I ran a meet on the course at 13.6s being my timing (my best time was 12.4). I had to leave the game to take care of my mother. Then I legally resigned.


In 2014 I got married. My husband too was born in a village full of hardships in Bibila. We both love sports so much. We now have two young daughters bu there is no place for us to stay right now. It is difficult for us to do everything with the money from my husband's salary. I had two caesarean section operations, but in 2020 I won first place without training in the 100m long jump at the National Sports Festival selections.


My mother is a kidney transplant patient. Father has left us. There is not enough money for everything we need to eat, drink, play and educate our children. If we go for a loan we will get into more trouble. Can you help me build a single room with the foundation? Only one room . Also, many people say that children are left stranded and I am just running. Talent is not for everyone. Should I give up sports? A lot of trouble came. I still have the determination to try. But my first thing is the kids. They need to build their future. If I have a place to live, I can look after my children and train at the same time. Can you help me?" - TRANSLATED -

-Wajira Harshi Nadeeshani


You can change this story for the better. We provide verified bank details of the beneficiary for you to donate using any online transfer service or app you prefer. We do not charge any fee from you or the fundraiser. So go ahead, be a part of this story by making it better:

The above button will take you to a page where you can learn how to contribute to this story to make it better. Please share to get more support for this story↓

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page