top of page
Writer's pictureParithyaga.org

Cochlear implants for a 3 year old girl

Updated: Jul 31, 2021

This is the English translation of the request sent to us in Sinhalese by the mother(+94781177689) of a little girl awaiting cochlear implant surgery.

"My daughter is a hearing impaired child by birth. She is now three years old. Due to the nature of her hearing loss, the hearing aids used for general hearing loss are not adequate and cochlear implant surgery is the only solution. The cochlear implant used for this surgery is very expensive and the minimum price is around 3 million LKR and the best quality cochlear implant is around 5 million LKR. These devices are currently imported to in Sri Lanka only by Wickramarachchi Hearing Care.


Due to the high cost, the operation is being performed at the Ridgeway Children's Hospital with the intervention of the government and a large number of people are waiting for it. Because these devices are received as aid in a very limited quantity per from another country, patients have to wait several years on the waiting list. My child has also been unable to undergo surgery since he was a year old.


The disadvantage of this is that the success of the surgery depends on the fact that the surgery is performed before the age of 5 years. Doctors say that the younger the child is when surgery is done, the more successful it is, and the older the child, the more likely it is that the surgery will fail.


We have been waiting for the list for 2 years and now my daughter is 3 years old. Another year has been wasted due to this and my daughter is missing out on the opportunity to have the surgery before she reaches the relevant age.


If we can purchase this equipment in person, there is a possibility of surgery at the Children's Hospital within a month or two. We are very helpless as we do not really have the financial means to buy such a device. We who live in a rented house have nothing of financial value to sell or raise money with. We also have five children so I can't leave home and work and my husband runs a small business.


I hope you understand my situation. I need nothing more than to hear the baby talk. I beg for your help. Going to school at the right age and getting an education will enable her to succeed in the future. My daughter's age children go to preschool now and my poor child misses it because of her hearing loss. There is nothing I can do but look at it and be mentally distressed. I would not think twice to give my daughter my ears if this could be done like any other organ transplant. The irony of fate is that it can't be done either.


I once again kindly request your sympathetic attention on behalf of my child. I am requesting for your kindness and to contribute to my daughter's cochlear implant surgery. Please help my daughter hear!

-Mother"


You can change this story for the better. We provide verified bank details of the beneficiary for you to donate using any online transfer service or app you prefer. We do not charge any fee from you or the fundraiser. So go ahead, be a part of this story by making it better:

The above button will take you to a page where you can learn how to contribute to this story to make it better. Please share to get more support for this story↓

262 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page