top of page
Writer's pictureParithyaga.org

Pathum wants to walk again and get a job.

Updated: Jun 12, 2021

There are no new updates available for this story. You can contact the subject if you want to check whether you can still be a part of this story. Click on 'Be a part of this story' below.

Pathum is 20 years old. He started working for a highway construction company and could only complete just more than 2 months on the job before he met with a terrible accident.


Here is how he described the accident(translated):


"I don't have a fixed job description, the work I do depends on what is required to be done. In April, I was on a vehicle carrying hudge beams to construct bridges. There were four people on four corners of the carriage and two drivers manning the long vehicle. That day the sun was just above the head and the heat was too much, I accidently slipped and stepped on one of the big turning tyres of the vehicle and fell down.


When I turned around I saw that the vehicle was going over my body and at the same time others shouted and got the driver to stop the vehicle. When I looked back I could not lift my legs. One leg was shattered and flesh has come out. My crew stopped a cab and took me to Tangalle hospital. From Tangalle I was transferred to Galle and then to Colombo."


Now Pathum is facing a complication in his legs due to a germ which has entered his bones. He needs to be brought to Colombo for treatment. His family has no fixed income. Pathum being the eldest child in the family, who everyone was dependent on makes them even more helpless. Please be kind to help this boy get medical treatments so that he can stand up again and make a living.


Parithyaga.org does not donate to or raise funds for any story published on this website.

Contact details and other information needed to support this story can be viewed if you chose to be a part of this story:

The above button will take you to a page where you can learn more about this story and see how you can contribute to make it better. Please share to get more support for this story↓

77 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page